Carter Laboratory
Carter logo underlining arrow

Principal Investigator

ashley carter Ashley Carter
Associate Professor
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Biochemistry and Biophysics Program

Email: acarter@amherst.edu
Office: Merrill Science Center 118 • (413) 542-2593
Laboratory: Merrill Science Center 206 • (413) 542-2949
                    Beneski 004 • (413) 542-5527

Curriculum Vitae

Current Lab Members

Andrea Boskovic
Andrea Boskovic
Class of 2021
DNA Folding
aboskovic21@amherst.edu
Kyle Jones
Kyle Jones
Class of 2021
DNA Folding
kmjones21@amherst.edu
Ruth Mosunmade
Ruth Mosunmade
Class of 2020
Histone Replacement
rmosunmade20@amherst.edu
Emily Ma
Emily Ma
Class of 2020
DNA Folding
yuma20@amherst.edu
Ryan McMillan
Ryan McMillan
Class of 2020
DNA Folding and AFM
rmcmillan20@amherst.edu
Ashwin Balaji
Ashwin Balaji
Class of 2019
Optical Trapping
abalaji19@amherst.edu
hilary bediako
Hilary Bediako
Class of 2019
DNA Folding
hbediako19@amherst.edu
peter cho
Peter Cho
Class of 2019
Cellular Rheology & Zebrafish Behavior
pcho19@amherst.edu
obinna Ukugu
Obinna Ukogu
Class of 2018
DNA Folding
oukogu18@amherst.edu
moumita dasgupta
Moumita Dasgupta
Teaching Fellow
DNA Folding
mdasgupta@amherst.edu

 

Undergraduate Thesis Students

Bishop Grimm • Class of 2018 • Toward force characterization of protamine condensed DNA
Luka Devenica • Class of 2017 • Building an optical trap
Adam Smith • Class of 2017 • Measuring DNA folding by protamine
Marco Catipovic • Class of 2014 • Measuring the viscoelastic properties of zebrafish embryos
Clay Contee • Hampshire College Class of 2014 • Atomic force microscopy for undergraduate laboratories
Robert Schwab • Class of 2013 • Stepwise mechanism of DNA condensation in sperm
Frederick Shipley • Class of 2013 • Using backscattered detection to build an optical profilometer

 

Carter Laboratory Alumni

Andrea Boskovic



Andrea Boskovic • Undeclared, Class of 2021
(Summer 2018-present) • aboskovic21@amherst.edu
Kyle Jones



Kyle Jones • Undeclared, Class of 2021
(Summer 2018-present) • kmjones21@amherst.edu
Ruth Mosunmade



Ruth Mosunmade • Undeclared, Class of 2020
(Summer 2017-present) • rmosunmade20@amherst.edu
Emily Ma



Emily Ma • BCBP, Class of 2020
(Summer 2017-present) • yuma20@amherst.edu
Ryan McMillan



Ryan McMillan • Undeclared, Class of 2020
(January 2017-present) • rmcmillan20@amherst.edu
Yilikal Sarka



Yilikal Sarka • BCBP, Class of 2019
(Summer 2017) • ysarka19@amherst.edu
Ashwin Balaji



Ashwin Balaji • BCBP, Class of 2019
(January 2018-present) • abalaji19@amherst.edu
peter cho



Peter Cho • BCBP, Class of 2019
(Summer 2016-present) • pcho19@amherst.edu
Hilary Bediako



Hilary Bediako • BCBP, Class of 2019
(Summer 2016-present) • hbediako19@amherst.edu
Moumita Dasgupta



Moumita Dasgupta • Teaching Fellow while at Amherst
(Summer 2016-present) • mdasgupta@amherst.edu
Moumita is currently a Visiting Assistant Professor at Smith.
bishop grimm



Bishop Grimm • Physics, Class of 2018
(Summer 2016-Spring 2018) • bgrimm18@amherst.edu
Bishop is interested in materials science graduate school.
obinna ukogu



Obinna Ukogu • BCBP and Math, Class of 2018
(January 2015-Summer 2018) • oukogu18@amherst.edu
Obinna is doing financial research for XX.
adam smith



Adam Smith • BCBP, Class of 2017
(Summer 2015-Summer 2017) • adsmith17@amherst.edu
Adam worked for a year as a legal intern at McAndrews, Held, and Malloy in DC. Now he is in law school at Stanford.
luka devenica



Luka Devenica • BCBP and Physics, Class of 2017
(Summer 2014-Summer 2018) • ldevenica17@amherst.edu
Luka is currently in physics graduate school at Emory.
elizabeth



Elizabeth White • BCBP, Class of 2017
(Summer 2014-Summer 2017) • edwhite17@amherst.edu
Elizaeth is currently in biophysics graduate school at University of Chicago and is working in the Scherer Lab.
matt woop



Matt Woop • Physics, Class of 2016E
(Summer 2014-Spring 2015) • mwoop16@amherst.edu
Matt is currently a data engineer with iSentium.
ji hoon



Ji Hoon Lee • Physics, Class of 2016
(Summer 2013-Spring 2014) • jihlee16@amherst.edu
Ji Hoon did a theory thesis with Will Loinaz and Jagu. After studying at Cambridge for a year and then working at McGill, Ji Hoon is currently at the Perimeter Institute for physics graduate school.
eileen troconis gonzalez

Eileen Troconis Gonzalez • Biology, Class of 2015
(Spring 2015) • etroconisgonzalez15@amherst.edu
Eileen did her thesis with Joe Trapani in Biology in collaboration with the Carter Lab. She then went to Cambridge for a year and is now at Cornell doing a VMD/PhD.
terri hultum



Terri-Anne Hultum • Physics, Class of 2015
(Summer 2012 - Summer 2013) • thultum15@amherst.edu
Currently in computer science graduate school at NC State.
clay contee


Clay Contee • Physics, Class of 2014 (Hampshire College)
(Fall 2013 - Spring 2014) • clay.contee@gmail.com
After graduating, did a one year Bridge program at University of Massachusetts, then a Masters at Illinois Institute of Technology before heading to Penn for physics graduate school.
matt kurek



Matt Kurek • Physics, Class of 2014
(Summer 2013 - Fall 2014) • mkurek14@amherst.edu
Currently a programmer at Rockstar Games.
raysa cabrejo



Raysa Cabrejo • Chemistry, Class of 2014
(Spring 2013) • rcabrejo14@amherst.edu
Currently a medical student at Yale Medical School.
shahzad anwar



Shahzad Anwar • BCBP, Class of 2014
(Summer 2012) • sanwar14@amherst.edu
Currently getting an Engineering degree at Columbia.
marco catipovic


Marco Catipovic • BCBP, Class of 2014
(Summer 2012 - Summer 2014) • mcatipovic14@amherst.edu
Currently a graduate student in Harvard's Biophysics program working in the Rappaport lab.
paul tyler

Paul Tyler • Biology, Class of 2014
(Fall 2011-Spring 2012) • ptyler14@amherst.edu
Currently at Harvard graduate school working in the Dougan Lab at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and studying cancer immunology using mouse models.
robert flynn

Robert Flynn • Physics and Music, Class of 2013
(January 2012) • rflynn13@amherst.edu
After graduating he took a position as the Orchestral Graduate Associate here at Amherst College. Currently working in Boston, MA.
cheyenne teng

Cheyenne Teng • Physics, Class of 2013
(January 2012) • cteng13@amherst.edu
Currently in Electrical Engineering graduate school at Princeton working in Gerard Wysocki's lab on laser spectroscopy.



Robert Schwab • BCBP, Class of 2013
(Fall 2011-Spring 2013) • robert.d.schwab@gmail.com
After graduating he worked at UPenn Medical School in the June lab doing HIV and Leukemia research. Now he is a medical student at UPenn.
fan feng


Fan Feng • Chemistry and Economics, Class of 2013
(Spring 2011) • ffeng13@amherst.edu
Currently doing energy trading with DC Energy located in Vienna, VA.


Frederick Shipley • Physics and BCBP, Class of 2013
(Summer 2010-Spring 2013) • frshipley@gmail.com
After graduating he worked in the Leifer Lab at Princeton doing research in neuroscience using optogenetics. Currently he is a graduate student in Harvard's Biophysics program and is working in the Lehtinen Lab.
ysabel woodyYsabel Woody • Black Studies, Class of 2012
(Summer 2010) • ysabel.woody@gmail.com
After graduating she worked in alumni and parent programs at Amherst College. Currently she is working in Washington DC at the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is thinking about physics graduate school and energy research.
Merrill Science Center • Amherst College • Amherst, MA 01002 • 413-542-2593
HomeResearchTeachingPeoplePublicationsContacts