Carter Laboratory
Carter logo underlining arrow

Principal Investigator

ashley carter Ashley Carter
Associate Professor
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Biochemistry and Biophysics Program

Email: acarter@amherst.edu
Office: Science Center, Room A122• (413) 542-2593
Laboratory: Science Center, Room C009 • (413) 542-2949
                    

Curriculum Vitae

Current Lab Members

Joanna Idrovo
Joanna Idrovo
Class of 2023
Histone Replacement
jidrovo23@amherst.edu
Vietta Kuntz
Vietta Kuntz
Class of 2023
Histone Replacement
vkuntz23@amherst.edu
Genaro Torres
Genaro Torres
Class of 2022
DNA Folding
gtorres22@amherst.edu
Lynn Fu
Lynn Fu
Class of 2022
Histone Replacement
lfu22@amherst.edu
Andrea Boskovic
Andrea Boskovic
Class of 2021
Stats Modeling
aboskovic21@amherst.edu
Kyle Jones
Kyle Jones
Class of 2021
Histone Replacement
kmjones21@amherst.edu
Donna Roscoe
Donna Roscoe
Class of 2021
DNA Folding
droscoe21@amherst.edu
Ruth Mosunmade
Ruth Mosunmade
Class of 2020
Histone Replacement
rmosunmade20@amherst.edu
Emily Ma
Emily Ma
Class of 2020
DNA Folding
yuma20@amherst.edu
Ryan McMillan
Ryan McMillan
Class of 2020
DNA Folding and AFM
rmcmillan20@amherst.edu

 

Undergraduate Thesis Students

Ndukwo Okoronkwo • Class of 2020 • Cardiovascular Diseases in Egypt: Exploring Cultural and Economic Conditions to Inform Intervention Strategies
Ruth Mosunmade • Class of 2020 • Unraveling the histone replacement pathway in sperm
Ryan McMillan • Class of 2020 • From loops to toroids: investigating the protamine-induced DNA condensation process
Emily Ma • Class of 2020 • Repackaging DNA: from nucleosome core particles to protamine loops
Hilary Bediako • Class of 2019 • Determining the pathway for protamine-induced
DNA loop and toroid formation in sperm
Ashwin Balaji • Class of 2019 • Characterizing the mechanism of DNA
loop formation by protamine
Peter Cho • Class of 2019 • Tracking the kinematics of the
zebrafish startle response
Bishop Grimm • Class of 2018 • Toward force characterization of protamine condensed DNA
Luka Devenica • Class of 2017 • Building an optical trap
Adam Smith • Class of 2017 • Measuring DNA folding by protamine
Marco Catipovic • Class of 2014 • Measuring the viscoelastic properties of zebrafish embryos
Clay Contee • Hampshire College Class of 2014 • Atomic force microscopy for undergraduate laboratories
Robert Schwab • Class of 2013 • Stepwise mechanism of DNA condensation in sperm
Frederick Shipley • Class of 2013 • Using backscattered detection to build an optical profilometer

 

Carter Laboratory Alumni

<
Vietta Kuntz



Vietta Kuntz • Undeclared, Class of 2023
(Summer 2020-present) • vkuntz23@amherst.edu
Joanna Idrovo



Joanna Idrovo • Undeclared, Class of 2023
(Summer 2020-present) • jidrovo23@amherst.edu
Genaro Torres



Genaro Torres • Undeclared, Class of 2022
(Summer 2020-present) • gtorres22@amherst.edu
Lynn Fu



Lynn Fu • BCBP, Class of 2022
(January 2019-present) • lfu22@amherst.edu
Donna Roscoe



Donna Roscoe • BCBP and Psychology, Class of 2021
(January 2019-present) • droscoe21@amherst.edu
Andrea Boskovic



Andrea Boskovic • Math and Statistics, Class of 2021
(Summer 2018-present) • aboskovic21@amherst.edu
Kyle Jones



Kyle Jones • BCBP, Class of 2021
(Summer 2018-present) • kmjones21@amherst.edu
Youna Choi



Youna Choi • Neuro and Psych, Class of 2022
(January 2019) • ychoi22@amherst.edu
Yilikal Sarka



Yilikal Sarka • BCBP, Class of 2021
(Summer 2017) • ysarka19@amherst.edu
Ndukwo Okoronkwo

Ndukwo Okoronkwo • Asian Studies and Global Health, Class of 2020
(Fall 2019-Spring 2020) • nokoronkwo20@amherst.edu
Biafra will be doing contract tracing in the coronavirus pandemic after graduating. He is planning on going to graduate school to get a Masters in Public Health in about 3 years.
Ruth Mosunmade



Ruth Mosunmade • BCBP, Class of 2020
(Summer 2017-Spring 2020) • rmosunmade20@amherst.edu
Ruth is planning on attending medical school after a postbac year at Elms College.
Emily Ma



Emily Ma • BCBP, Class of 2020
(Summer 2017-Summer 2020) • yuma20@amherst.edu
Emily will be a Q Fellow at Amherst College before heading off to medical school.
Ryan McMillan

Ryan McMillan • BCBP and Physics, Class of 2020
(January 2017-Summer 2020) • rmcmillan20@amherst.edu
Ryan won a Fulbright Fellowship and will work in the Dietz Lab in Germany next year. He also won an NSF Fellowship as an undergraduate and will start at Harvard Biophysics the following Fall.
Ashwin Balaji



Ashwin Balaji • BCBP, Class of 2019
(January 2018-Summer 2019) • abalaji19@amherst.edu
Ashwin is currently in the Biophysics graduate program at Stanford.
peter cho



Peter Cho • BCBP, Class of 2019
(Summer 2016-Summer 2019) • pcho19@amherst.edu
Peter is currently at Biomedical Engineering graduate school at Duke.
Hilary Bediako



Hilary Bediako • BCBP, Class of 2019
(Summer 2016-Summer 2019) • hbediako19@amherst.edu
Hilary is currently at medical school at Penn.
Moumita Dasgupta

Moumita Dasgupta • Teaching Fellow while at Amherst
(Summer 2016-Summer 2018) • mdasgupta@amherst.edu
Moumita went to Smith for a Visiting Assistant Professorship after Amherst. She is now an Assistant Professor at Augsberg University in Minnesota.
bishop grimm


Bishop Grimm • Physics, Class of 2018
(Summer 2016-Spring 2018) • bgrimm18@amherst.edu
Bishop is in materials science graduate school.
obinna ukogu

Obinna Ukogu • BCBP and Math, Class of 2018
(January 2015-Summer 2018) • oukogu18@amherst.edu
After leaving Amherst, Obinna took a financial research position with Capstone Research. He is planning to go to Math graduate school in Fall 2020 at University of Washington.
adam smith

Adam Smith • BCBP, Class of 2017
(Summer 2015-Summer 2017) • adsmith17@amherst.edu
Adam worked for a year as a legal intern at McAndrews, Held, and Malloy in DC. Now he is in law school at Stanford and is also getting a Masters in Bioengineering there.
luka devenica



Luka Devenica • BCBP and Physics, Class of 2017
(Summer 2014-Summer 2018) • ldevenica17@amherst.edu
Luka is currently in physics graduate school at Emory.
elizabeth


Elizabeth White • BCBP, Class of 2017
(Summer 2014-Summer 2017) • edwhite17@amherst.edu
Elizaeth is currently in biophysics graduate school at University of Chicago and is working in the Scherer Lab.
matt woop



Matt Woop • Physics, Class of 2016E
(Summer 2014-Spring 2015) • mwoop16@amherst.edu
Matt is currently a data engineer with iSentium in Miami, FL.
ji hoon

Ji Hoon Lee • Physics, Class of 2016
(Summer 2013-Spring 2014) • jihlee16@amherst.edu
Ji Hoon did a theory thesis with Professors Loinaz and Jagu. After studying at Cambridge for a year and then working at McGill, Ji Hoon is currently at the Perimeter Institute for physics graduate school.
eileen troconis gonzalez

Eileen Troconis Gonzalez • Biology, Class of 2015
(Spring 2015) • etroconisgonzalez15@amherst.edu
Eileen did her thesis with Joe Trapani in Biology in collaboration with the Carter Lab. She then went to Cambridge for a year and is now at Cornell doing a VMD/PhD.
terri hultum



Terri-Anne Hultum • Physics, Class of 2015
(Summer 2012 - Summer 2013) • thultum15@amherst.edu
After Amherst, Terri went to computer science graduate school at NC State.
clay contee

Clay Contee • Physics, Class of 2014 (Hampshire College)
(Fall 2013 - Spring 2014) • clay.contee@gmail.com
After graduating, did a one year Bridge program at University of Massachusetts, then a Masters at Illinois Institute of Technology before heading to Penn for physics graduate school.
matt kurek



Matt Kurek • Physics, Class of 2014
(Summer 2013 - Fall 2014) • mkurek14@amherst.edu
Currently a programmer at Rockstar Games in Massachusetts.
raysa cabrejo

Raysa Cabrejo • Chemistry, Class of 2014
(Spring 2013) • rcabrejo14@amherst.edu
Raysa went to medical school at Yale and graduated in 2019 with an MD/MHS. She did a 1-year surgery internship at Yale New Haven Hospital and will be continuing her residency next year at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in their plastic and reconstructive surgery program
shahzad anwar

Shahzad Anwar • BCBP, Class of 2014
(Summer 2012) • sanwar14@amherst.edu
After Amherst, Shahzad went to chemical engineering at Columbia. He interned for Boeing and is currently working at Amazon.
marco catipovic


Marco Catipovic • BCBP, Class of 2014
(Summer 2012 - Summer 2014) • mcatipovic14@amherst.edu
Currently a graduate student in Harvard's Biophysics program working in the Rapoport lab. Marco got his PhD in 2020!
paul tyler

Paul Tyler • Biology, Class of 2014
(Fall 2011-Spring 2012) • ptyler14@amherst.edu
Currently at Harvard graduate school working in the Dougan Lab at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and studying cancer immunology using mouse models.
robert flynn

Robert Flynn • Physics and Music, Class of 2013
(January 2012) • rflynn13@amherst.edu
After graduating he took a position as the Orchestral Graduate Associate here at Amherst College. Currently working in Boston, MA.
cheyenne teng

Cheyenne Teng • Physics, Class of 2013
(January 2012) • cteng13@amherst.edu
Currently in Electrical Engineering graduate school at Princeton working in Gerard Wysocki's lab on laser spectroscopy.



Robert Schwab • BCBP, Class of 2013
(Fall 2011-Spring 2013) • robert.d.schwab@gmail.com
After graduating he worked at UPenn Medical School in the June lab doing HIV and Leukemia research. He graduated from medical school at UPenn in 2019 and is a resident at Hospital UPenn (HUP).
fan feng


Fan Feng • Chemistry and Economics, Class of 2013
(Spring 2011) • ffeng13@amherst.edu
Currently doing energy trading with DC Energy located in Vienna, VA.


Frederick Shipley • Physics and BCBP, Class of 2013
(Summer 2010-Spring 2013) • frshipley@gmail.com
After graduating he worked in the Leifer Lab at Princeton doing research in neuroscience using optogenetics. Currently he is a graduate student in Harvard's Biophysics program and is working in the Lehtinen Lab.
ysabel woodyYsabel Woody • Black Studies, Class of 2012
(Summer 2010) • ysabel.woody@gmail.com
After graduating she worked in alumni and parent programs at Amherst College. Currently she is working in Washington DC at the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is thinking about physics graduate school and energy research.

 

Robot Team

Robot Team 2019



Robot Team 2019 • Eva Lau '19, Lynn Fu '22, Mina Lee '22
Josh Burns '22, Ajay Sarathy '21, Flanagan Waldherr '22
Robot Team 2018



Robot Team 2018• Devin Epstein '21, Ingrid Shu '20, Donna Roscoe '21,
Allan Phillips '20, Abdoulaye Sanogo '19, Ellen Mutter '18
Science Center • Amherst College • Amherst, MA 01002 • 413-542-2593
HomeResearchTeachingPeoplePublicationsContacts